Sewing Pattern Review – Megan Nielsen Darling Ranges

You might remember this fabric from my July Sewing Haul, but since then I haven’t shown you what it became over here on the blog. You might have seen it over on my Instagram but I thought I’d give you a little pattern review her on the blog.

Autumn fabric Pattern reviewScreen Shot 2016-10-19 at 18.27.32.png

I think I mentioned in my vlog that I was playing on turning this gorgeous fabric into a Megan Neilsen Darling Ranges dress hack and extend it into a maxi dress version. After some consideration I decided against this and went for the normal length of this dress. Mainly because I don’t think Maxis ever suit me.

Let me just say I LOVE this dress. It’s just so comfy! I made the unfitted version in this soft viscose fabric from Fabric Land (similar) which has made it a dream to wear. Occasionally I nip it in at waist with a belt but I like the versatility and think it looks fine without.  And hello, pockets! Love, love, love!

pattern review megan nielsen darling ranges

The pattern was easy to sew. At first I had a little bit of an issue with the binding around the neck but it was easily fixed. I had the PDF version of this pattern so found the Megan Nielsen app a great help when sewing this together. Genius idea.

I  wore this when travelling to America and let me just say it is great plane wear. Comfortable because you don’t have to worry about fitted areas becoming uncomfortable when you’re wearing it for hours on end and covers you up enough when the plane gets cold, all while you carry on looking stylish.

I can’t wait to make more. I have plans for a blouse version from the lovely constellation fabric I bought while in America and would also love to try the version with the fitted waist. Overall just really love how simple pattern this pattern and how versatile the style is. It will quickly become a wardrobe staple!

Have you tried this pattern?  What patterns do you love for comfort and style?

For all my sewing updates come and say hi over on Instagram

Dominique Major Instagram

Leave a Reply

