5 Last Minute Summer Sewing Patterns

Guess what guys, summer is not over yet. Yes, if  you live in the UK most days it feels like summer never really actually came around. Sunny days have been few and far between which means summer sewing hadn’t really been a priority. (That’s probably why I’m panic sewing some last minute bits for my holiday!) But there seems to be a few sunny days left in this summer and we all know there’s always a last burst of sunshine in September.

So I wanted to do a round up of 5 last minute summer sewing patterns that are quick, work for warmer climates but can also be transitioned into autumn winter.

1. Adelaide dress 

Another great dress for layering. I’ve just sewn this beautiful pattern up in a slightly altered denim version perfect for summer travels but when I’m back and the sun is no longer around I want to get more wear our of it and  when sewn in the right fabric it is perfect for layering. My denim version could be worn with a striped top  underneath (I’ve just sewn multiple Nettie’s that would be perfect) and some ankle boots. Transition done!

adelaide.jpg

(Pink cord, Denim , Liberty cord

2.  Sudley dress 

I’ve just made this dress in a beautiful Liberty Tana lawn and I love it which has made we eager to sew others. I have a top version in the pipe line for my holiday but again I think this pattern, while beautiful, is also a great pattern to transition. It can be worn as it is now and when made in a beautiful fabric like a Tana lawn is breezy and cool but as the colder weather comes you can layer a jumper over and show off the collar detailing or add a cozy chunky cardigan over the top.  Make it in a blouse and wear it with shorts in the summer and under your Adelaide dress in the winter with thick tights and boots.

sudley.jpg

(Liberty, Rifle Co., Feather)

3. Françoise Dress 

Some of you may have recently seen my first Françoise dress and I think this makes a great summer to Autumn transition piece when sewn in the sleeveless version.

While this isn’t a super summery piece being sleeveless makes it easy to wear when the weather is warmer paired it’s some nice sandals. However this can be transitioned into A/W through the wonderful art of layering. When made in the right fabric this 60s style pinafore dress can easily be warn with a long sleeve top underneath or even better a roll neck and tights!

francoise.jpg

(Cat, Dashwood, Cloud 9_

4. Bailen Slip dress

I spoke about this dress in my July Favourites video and it was the pattern that prompted me to think about this post. Slip dresses are great for warm weather. When made in a viscose, as I did with mine, they are light and breathable. Exactly what you need when it’s just too hot. But layer a polo neck or jumper underneath when the chill hits, they then add some colour to your winter wardrobe and help you embrace 90s chic. An easy (free!) pattern and versatile. I like a lot!

bailen

(Poppy, Tropic, Medalion)

5. Coco dress

I have a new found love for the Coco and I can see why it is a Tilly and the Buttons best seller. It is so easy to sew and so comfortable. Now knits might not be what you think of sewing in the summer but seeing as our summer’s aren’t hot hot the coco makes a great transition piece. It’s easy to wear without tights or sew a loose fitting top to wear with short or a denim skirt. I have sewn a long sleeve top version in the yellow stripe and a short sleeve dress in the black and i’ve only had the pattern for about a week.

coco.jpg

(Spots, Black stripe, Yellow Stripe)

What last minute summer sewing are you doing to transition into AW? Have you tried any of these patterns? Let me know if you have any fabric or pattern recommendations in the comments below.

(PS I am on holiday for two weeks so there will be fewer posts and I no videos though I do have so good ones lined up for when I’m back. Do check my Instagram to stay up to date with my travels and Handmade Holiday Wardrobe. You might even see some of these in there.)

 

Leave a Reply

