New Favourite Pattern? Butterick B5030

If there was ever an example of why you should never judge a pattern but its cover the Butterick B5030 would be that example. Ok, so it’s not the worst I’ve ever seen but it looks frumpy and lets say I had to use my imagination when buying it.


So the reason I bought this pattern and ignored the horrible cover is because I had a vision and this pattern was the closest I could find to bring my vision to life. As some of you will have seen in my previous post this vision came from the beautiful dresses over on Reformation. I wanted to make a modern take on the wrap dress. It’s a style I’ve never tried before because I’ll admit, I imagined it as a style for an older woman. But Reformation opened my eyes to it’s potential and I am so glad. While this design isn’t groundbreaking it’s the little changes that make it modern.

So first up the pattern.

pattern review butterick b5030 dominique major

The biggest change I had to make was the length of the skirt. Now I’m not short I’m 5ft 7 and even so I had to shorten this pattern A LOT! Just from looking at the pattern I knew it needed to be shortened. So when cutting the pattern pieces I shortened the paper piece straight away by about 4inches. Yet when I had completed my sewing, when I tried it on, it still came past my knees! Now it was fine, but I felt that this dress needed to be shorter to keep it modern so i then had to shorten it by about another 4 inches. Even now it’s short but its not indecent. Another change I made was with the gap in the neckline. In the images the neckline is quite reserved. I am not a big boobs on show kind of girl but again to keep the modern feel I felt it needed a lower cut. I’m happy with it. It does need a popper in the front to stop it gapping but I like the neckline and the amount of skin on show.

pattern review butterick b5030 dominique major


As you can see from the pictures I went for the sleeves on version C. Overall I could not be happier with this dress and with the changes I now know I need to make I can’t wait to make more and you will be seeing a lot more of this pattern.

pattern review butterick 5030 inspo dominique major

I have a new favourites video going up on my YouTube channel tomorrow so if you haven’t subscribed head on over so you don’t miss out! 

Have you tried the Butterick B5030? Do you have any suggestions for fabrics I could try next? Let me know in the comments below.

One thought on “New Favourite Pattern? Butterick B5030

  1. Pingback: Pay Day Wish List

Leave a Reply

