Birthday dress

It’s my birthday! I still get so excited about birthdays, yes the getting older does suck a bit but the actual birthday part is great! 


The best kind of birthdays are the ones that fall in the weekend as its like a birthday weekend bonanza. As my birthday is on a Sunday this year I got that treat, so to celebrate I’ve worn two new dresses! 

This is my first completely self drafted pattern and I’ve worn two different versions for my birthday weekend so I  feel like this pattern should be called the birthday dress. Imaginative I know. 

For the pattern I decided to shape the arm hole around the natural shape of that area  to flatter the shoulder/arm while keeping a high neckline, which I always prefer. For the back I decided to contrast the front by opting for  a lower back and summer straps. 


For the skirt I went for a simple half circle because I thought the shape looked good with this style bodice. It also helps to flatter my waist without any gathers or pleats. 

I’ve sewn two versions. One I wore on my birthday eve for food with friends and the other for my actual birthday which I spent with my family. 


The first version is in this cheap polycotton I bought in A1 fabrics on Goldhawk Road. 


It was super cheap and the quality isn’t great but I just loved the simple pattern. I LOVE this fabric sewn up and think it really suits this pattern! 

The other is in this beautiful Liberty fabric that I actual got for my birthday two years ago. I wore this for family fun on my actual birthday. 

Here’s to 26! 

What have you all been sewing recently? Do you like to sew yourself something new for your birthday?  Let me know in the comments below. 

4 thoughts on “Birthday dress

  1. Happy Birthday! Both dresses are fab and I love monochrome so jealous of that A1 fabrics find! Currently working on a few different projects including a jumpsuit for a friend and jeans for myself. Both are still at toile /tracing stage but no-one needs to know that.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

