Introduction to Pattern Cutting at LCF

Welcome back guys! As I said in my June Sewing Plans, during the month of May I took a Pattern Cutting Course at the London College of Fashion. So I wanted to give you a roundup of the course, what I learnt and what to expect in case you happen to be interested in signing up for a similar course.

So first up…

Why did I sign up?

I’d been thinking about doing a course for a while. I wanted to learn something new creatively. I had thought about pottery or jewellery-making but while these would be fun I couldn’t see a benefit to my personal creativity beyond the course. However, I didn’t want to do a sewing course because I couldn’t see the value for money. I know how to sew and what I don’t know, there are so many online tutorials to follow so I didn’t see the need. But I’d seen this course on the LCF website and debated whether I would get enough out of it. After much deliberation, I decided that this was something I perhaps would struggle to teach myself, it’s a renowned fashion college and it would benefit my personal creativity. So the rest, as they say, is history…

What is Introduction to Pattern Cutting (Womenswear)?

The course I took was five weeks every Saturday from 10am-5pm. It took place LCF’s Lime Grove campus, which is dangerously close to Goldhawk Rd… you’ve been warned.

Over these five weeks you learn:

  • dart manipulation
  • how to draft a bodice
  • how to draft collars
  • how to draft a skirt
  • adding seam allowance
  • adding button stands
  • fit
  • various sides of design
  • and so much more…

The course is a great mix of practical and technical knowledge. Class sizes are small – my class had a 9 students and not everyone would show up each week.

My tutor, Claudette, was so friendly and supportive. Any questions she would answer and she would give you so much, much more than the basics of the course. She provided so much industry knowledge.

This is an introduction to pattern cutting but I was very lucky that my tutor really pushed us. So be prepared that there will be lots of information in these 5 weeks and lots to absorb in your own time through practise. But as an introduction there is so much more to learn but this serves as a good base.

If you are interested LCF have a bunch of pattern cutting short courses here.

Below is my current project a summer dress, more to come on the finished project soon.

Have you tried pattern cutting? Or is there anything else you’d like to know about pattern cutting? Let me know in the comments below.

Instagram| Twitter | YouTube

2 thoughts on “Introduction to Pattern Cutting at LCF

Leave a Reply

