June Sewing Plans

Hi Guys! Long time no blog. I’ve hit a bit of a creative block which means despite having a week off of work last week I didn’t get any sewing done and haven’t started any new projects.

I often find myself so overwhelmed with ideas that I don’t know where to start, so I just don’t. I also find myself more creatively stimulated when I am working, this might be strange but maybe it’s my mind wanting to escape. What I find is that by the time I get some time off I’m exhausted and just want to sit and do nothing! Does that happen to anyone else? How do you fight a creative block?

But that being said I’m not going to beat myself up about it, it happens! On the plus side we are in June and despite last week’s miserable weather (which I think contributed to the block) the sun seems to have put its hat back on.

So I thought I’d ease myself back in by making some plans for June. Now I know that May was a crazy month – Me Made May had taken over our Instagrams and put handmade into the forefront of our minds, but what now?

For me I’ve just finished my course at LCF, so with all those skills under my belt and my Saturdays now free I can’t wait to put that into practise. I’m currently drafting a summer dress, so keep your eyes peeled. Also I do plan to do a bit of a round-up of my course at some point in case anyone else is interested.

Another reason for my sewing block is that I haven’t bought any new patterns recently. There’s nothing really screaming out to me that I need to have that isn’t similar to what I already have. I think it’s also the knowing that I can make some of my own that’s putting me off, but I do have a bunch of fabrics just waiting to be used.

Seeing as drafting my own pattern just adds more time to process and I am eager for some new clothes, I do have some old patterns I’m hoping to tackle.

The first being a Rigel bomber in a stand-out fabric. I love a bomber jacket and I want one in a nice bright floral for summer. I think it would look good over denim and t-shirts, to jazz up a more casual look.

These three other fabrics I’m hoping to use for some self drafted goodies. The black and white I’m hoping to make into a summer dress. The 70s floral fabric I plan to draft into a midi skirt and the denim into a must-have pinafore.

It’s also my birthday at the beginning of next month so as a birthday treat I’ll make a birthday dress out of the this Liberty fabric I’ve had for ages but am always to scared to cut into.

What’s everyone’s sewing plans for June? I’d also love to hear how you get yourselves out of a creative block. Let me know in the comments below.

Instagram | Twitter | YouTube

 

One thought on “June Sewing Plans

  1. Some really beautiful fabrics there Dominique! And fun-sounding plans too. The Rigel bomber has been on my list for a while, it just keeps getting bumped down by other things. I think sewing block is normal and comes in waves. And I find I’m struggling to find time to blog about it all so am considering vlogging as well. If you have any tips, let me know!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

