Me Made May 2016 – Round Up

Tuesday 31st May 2016… we made it. It’s the end of May and therefore, sadly, the end of Me Made May 2016.

So I managed to do it. I successfully wore a Me Made item everyday for the month of May. Here is my original pledge.

I didn’t manage to wear a different piece each day, which I always knew was unrealistic but I did pretty well. I was very impressed with how my me made wardrobe held up.

You can catch up with all my previous weekly roundups here, here and here.

 

My Favourite Me Mades

My Lisette. I love the shape, the colour, the pattern and it’s damn comfortable.

Can you tell I like my Miette? Can you tell I like that pink colour? Enough said.

This dress always gets compliments. It has elephants holding balloons – oh, and it’s pink!

I love the colour of this dress and these hidden bunny buttons are so cute!

Screen Shot 2016-05-31 at 20.48.19

I also managed to sneak in my me made shoes.

So what did I learn?

I learnt that lots of my me made items are colourful and have lots of pattern. Before this I had thought about whether this is something I should change, but what, Me Made May has shown me is that these are things that make my wardrobe mine and I like that.

I learnt that I have so much more I want to sew but I didn’t do anywhere near enough sewing this May.  While I managed to wear lots of me mades, May was a super hectic month.

I’ve been taking a pattern cutting course at LCF. I’ve learnt SO much and I can’t wait to put it all into practise. I have so many plans…

I also made a custom order for a band!

The Tuts Dresses by Dominique www.dominiquemajor.wordpress.com

The Tuts are an all-girl band who have just recorded their debut album and I made 70s style pinafores for their upcoming music video.

I’ll be putting together a post when the video actually comes out but here are a sneak peek of the dresses. I’d love to do more things like this, so if you are in the market for a new dress do contact me.

All in all I didn’t even have much of chance for some selfless sewing. So my aim for June is to add more me made pieces to my wardrobe.

This was my first year taking part in Me Made May and I’m so glad I did. I’ve enjoyed seeing everyone’s Me Made May makes and enjoyed the thought I’ve had to put into my wardrobe for the month of May. So thanks to So Zo for setting up this challenge it’s been great.

How did you do this Me Made May 2016? What’s everyone’s me made plans now that May is over? Let me know in the comments below. 

Instagram | Twitter | YouTube

 

 

Leave a Reply

