Me Made May 2016 Week 3

This week has been hectic. Have you ever had one of those weeks where it just drags and every morning feels like it should be Friday? Well it was one of those, I woke up 3 times thinking it was Friday when it wasn’t. However, while it was long it wasn’t all bad.

Huffington Post The Great British Sewing Bee gbsb www.dominiquemajor.wordpress.com

This week I had another article published on the Huffington Post, about Five reasons the GBSB Should Inspire You to Start Sewing.

Dresses by Dominique handmade for the The Tuts www.dominiquemajor.wordpress.com

I also finished some dresses for the band The Tuts for a video they are shooting for their first single off their upcoming album. I’m so excited to see how it all turns out. This was my first custom order and I’d love to do more, If you ever need something do contact me. I plan to do a post on this one so stay tuned.

So enough about that, here is my round up of my Me Made outfits from week 3 of Me Made May 2016…

Day 15

I spent the Sunday not doing a lot. I only ventured out to Tesco to do shopping for the week, so I wore this very old matching top and skirt. This is one of the first things I ever did sew. It still holds up but you can see a lot of progression in my sewing skills with this one.

 

Me Made May 2016 Day 15 www.dominiquemajor.wordpress.com

Day 16

I posted a video about my favourite sewing patterns and the outfit for this day was one of the dresses featured. Here is a clip of my video with the dress in question, but be sure to watch the full video here.

Day 17

All yellow in my Tilly and the Buttons Lilou dress from her book Love at First Stitch. I carried on the yellow theme with my Topshop shoes.

Me Made May 2016 Day 17 www.dominiquemajor.wordpress.com

Day 18

As you can tell from my previous outfit(s) I like to wear colour, so it’s quite rare for me to wear an outfit with so much black in it. But for this day I wore my self drafted faux leather skirt with exposed zip. I spent the whole night finishing off the dresses for The Tuts so it was an extremly long night…

Me Made May 2016 Day 18 www.dominiquemajor.wordpress.com

Day 19

… and an early morning. A 5am wake up call to get some last minute photos before the dresses were sent off meant this simple outfit was cobbled together. Another self drafted skirt with exposed zip, this time aline. The tshirt is a great Amelie top from Thailand.

Me Made May 2016 Day 19 www.dominiquemajor.wordpress.com

Day 20

Hold on isn’t this the same fabric as yesterday’s skirt? Well yes, yes it is. But this time it’s a hacked Papercut Patterns Rigel bomber. I did wear it with my trusty self drafted button front denim skirt but I tore a button off it. It couldn’t be photographed, RIP skirt.

Me Made May 2016 Day 20 www.dominiquemajor.wordpress.com

Day 21

Which brings us to my first repeat item of Me Made May 2016, my maroon cord Tilly and the Buttons Arielle Skirt . This was part 3 of my pattern cutting course at LCF so i brought along my trusty Tilly and the Buttons tote to carry round all my pattern cutting essentials and matched it my Stay at Home Club t-shirt because sometimes you just need to stay home.

Me Made May 2016 Day 21 Tilly and the Buttons Arielle www.dominiquemajor.wordpress.com

What have I learnt this week?

I’ve worn all my Me Made clothes that are either appropriate for the weather or I’m happy to be seen in public in. So the next week might see a few repeats crop up. This doesn’t bother me, We are 22days into the challenge and I’ve had one repeat which I think is pretty good going. This has shown me that my Me MAde wardrobe is larger than I thought and also more versatile. This week should be quieter and I have a few makes that I have been working on, near to completion. So this next week might also see some new sews enter the mix.

How is your Me Made May 2016 going? What are you learning? What have you been sewing?

Instagram- @dominique.major

Twitter – @dominiquemajor

Youtube 

3 thoughts on “Me Made May 2016 Week 3

  1. I love all the fabrics you pick! I’ve really enjoyed Me Made May so far, because I’ve realised how wearable my clothes are (I only got back into sewing about a year ago and still think of myself as a ‘beginner’). I feel a lot more confident about trying things that always scared me, like making jackets. The Rigel bomber is actually one I’m thinking of trying out – your version’s gorgeous!

    Like

    1. Thank you, I can’t help being drawn to anything colourful with an interesting pattern!

      That’s great! You should try it, it’s relatively easy to sew. I can’t wait to see how it turns out if you do. I want to make another one properly but that will require more fabric shopping!

      Like

Leave a Reply

