Me Made May 2016 – Week 1

Boom! Week 1 of Me Made May is done. Here’s a roundup of my first week of this challenge.

Day 1

Screen Shot 2016-05-07 at 22.30.54

I braved the cold and rain in Cornwall with my Lisette dress in this bright John Lewis fabric.

Day 2

Screen Shot 2016-05-07 at 22.31.05

Make My Lemonade Paloma dungaree dress in this boat corduroy from Copenhagen. Perfect outfit for that beach life come down and a 8hr car journey back home.

Day 3

Screen Shot 2016-05-07 at 22.31.19

Fighting post-Bank Holiday back to work blues in my Colette Patterns Hawthorn dress.

Day 4

Screen Shot 2016-05-07 at 22.31.33

On Wednesday I wear pink and this time it was this Simplicity (unknown pattern) elephant dress.

Day 5

Screen Shot 2016-05-07 at 22.31.42

Fighting for all things Girl Power on Election Day in my Tilly and the Buttons Miette skirt with this brilliant pink linen fabric from Fabric Land.

Day 6

Screen Shot 2016-05-07 at 22.31.52

More Tilly and the Buttons, but this time it was all bright in my Love at First Stitch Lilou dress.

Day 7

Screen Shot 2016-05-07 at 22.32.04

Back to school in another unknown Simplicity pattern dress in this fab sunflower fabric.

What have I learnt?

So from this first week, I’ve learnt that the majority of my handmade wardrobe is full of brightly coloured and patterned summer dresses. I’ve wanted to wear more skirts but apart from my Miette I don’t really have any appropriate for bare legs in this warmer weather. Also, I would like to make more tops because none of my Me Made skirts have anything to be paired with. Perhaps some jersey basic tops would be a good addition, something like the Tilly and the Buttons Agnes or even the Nettie bodysuit.

So I’ve managed to keep up with my daily photography and hope to do the same throughout the month of May.

However May is shaping up to be a super busy month. I’ve just started a pattern cutting course at LCF and my to-do lists just seems to be growing and growing. I can’t complain too much though, I’m working on some super exciting things. It’s just a shame I don’t have any time for some selfish sewing at the moment.

How was your first week of Me Made May? What have you learnt so far and what’s now on sewing list?

One thought on “Me Made May 2016 – Week 1

Leave a Reply

