Welcome to Me-Made-May ’16!

Can anyone else believe that it’s already May and we are 5 months into 2016? It’s crazy… But this May looks set to be an exciting month for many reasons, one being it’s time for Me-Made-May ‘16!

me-made-may'16

I’m excited because this is the first time I’m taking part. I followed the hashtag (#mmmay16) last year but this is the first time I have felt that my handmade wardrobe is ready for such a challenge.

So there might be some of you asking what is Me-Made-May?

img_1982

Me-Made-May is a challenge set up by So Zo to encourage people to wear more items in their handmade wardrobe. Whether they’ve sewn it, knitted it or upcycled it, it’s about showing your handmade pieces the love they deserve. She’s been running the challenge for 6 years and the nice thing about it, is that it isn’t meant to be a competition to see who has the most handmade pieces. Instead it’s a month to allow you to understand and value your handmade wardrobe. Call it a celebration of all your hard work! 

After my piece on the Fashion Revolution I feel this is a great challenge to help me to further understand the clothes I wear.

Screen Shot 2016-04-19 at 18.27.14

So Zo stresses that this isn’t a competition, so there isn’t any need for everyone to go out and panic sew. I think this is important to note because as she says this is a time for you to love your wardrobe not make things unnecessarily.

How will I be taking part?

First of all my pledge:

I Dominique of www.dominiquemajor.wordpress.com Instagram @dominique.major sign up as a participant of Me-Made-May ’16. I endeavour to wear at least one handmade item each day for the duration of May 2016 whilst sharing the message of handmade clothing and helping others to value their wardrobes.

I made my clothes DM

As So Zo highlights on her blog this challenge isn’t just about taking pictures of your clothing but its nice to see what everyone is wearing. What I plan to do create a post documenting my Me-Made-May week. Each post will be up at the weekend with a round up of my week’s handmade outfits alongside a reflection of my week. While I will try some to get pictures of me wearing my outfits each day, I’m not the biggest fan of taking photos of myself so it might be a mix. We shall see. 

What I hope Me-Made-May will allow me to do is see which handmade items are staples in my wardrobe, which ones don’t add anything to my wardrobe and what I need to add to my handmade wardrobe to fully integrate it into my daily life.

I’m normally really bad at doing daily things so fingers crossed I am able to document it so you can catch up on my progress.

Are any of you taking part in Me-Made-May ’16? What was your pledge? What are you looking forward to or are you anxious about something? Let me know in the comments below.

Keep up to date with #MMMay16

Instagram @dominique.major

Twitter @dominiquemajor

3 thoughts on “Welcome to Me-Made-May ’16!

  1. I hope you have a great month that teaches you heaps about your handmade wardrobe! Don’t stress about taking photos, if you really want to document your challenge, then you could also photograph just your favourite outfit of the week on your dress form or something? All the best xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

