Handmade Style – Floral Dresses

My name is Dominique and I love floral dresses!

Ok, this isn’t anything new but I can’t help myself. I see colour, I see print of the floral kind and I have to have it. It’s therefore no surprise that the majority of my handmade wardrobe is made up of this.

So this is a post in honour of my love for floral dresses.

I’ve picked my top 5 dresses.

 

Simplicity 1157 (Project Runway inspired) made in a green floral fabric that I bought in Stof 2000, Copenhagen, a fab fabric store that was perfectly positioned right next to my hotel.

The back of this dress (not shown) is open and I decided to add bunny buttons at the back. Very spring appropriate.

 

Simplicity 1105 (Cynthia Rowley) made in a John Lewis sale bargain fabric. With its flowy shape this  dress is great for hot summer days. I wore this when I went to Palm Springs and it was perfect. I did have to take it in a little bit because the trapezium shape was even a bit too much for me.

New Look 6223 with adapted neckline. (I think?!)  This is one of my favourites. The fabric is bold (John Lewis sale bargain) but it is so easy to wear. I love the hidden bees that are dotted around.

Tilly and the Buttons-Lilou made in, you guessed it, another John Lewis sale bargain. Again, another great dress to throw on and let the fabric do the talking. This Lilou has a gathered waist and a looser shape which is great when the weather is warmer and you don’t want to deal with fabric sticking to you.

Simplicty 1419 Lisette (I believe this has been discontinued though…)  Yes, another John Lewis fabric! I’m a teacher, I get John Lewis gift cards and I spend them on fabric.  I love how bold this fabric is, and the dress has pockets so it’s super practical.

That’s it, my favourite floral dresses.

Do you love florals? Share some of your favourite floral makes with me, I’d love to see them!

Instagram @dominique.major

Twitter @dominiquemajor

 

2 thoughts on “Handmade Style – Floral Dresses

Leave a Reply

